Bought by the Blood

June 17, 2008

Two For Tuesday

Filed under: Genesis,God's Promises,Romans — cubsfan1980 @ 5:43 pm
Tags: , ,

Being on vacation I figure this is the perfect opportunity to post two poems!  These are two new poems that I wrote as I was studying Genesis.  Genesis 15:1 is my favorite verse in the Bible and after I wrote the first poem I felt this conviction to write a prayer as I earnestly desire for my heart to believe the promise contained in this verse.

Genesis 15:1 After these things the word of the Lord came to Abram in a vision: “Fear not, Abram, I am your shield; your reward shall be very great.”

Oh God, my God, Lord and Savior
I find myself humbled and in awe
That I get to call myself your child.
Jesus died on the cross for my sins
So that righteousness can be accounted to me.

Without Christ righteousness I have nothing.
You are the only reward my life contains.
My defense against the troubles of this world
Comes from you as my shield and strong tower.
I have no cause you fear for your Spirit is in me.

Why do I get the privilege to call you Father?
I was your enemy and your brought me close to you.
You have lavished grace upon grace on me
By giving me a new hear that desires to trust and obey,
So no matter my circumstances my faith is in you
As I desire to please you with my whole heart.

Romans 8:17 and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.

Faithful Heavenly Father,
I come asking you to grant me your Spirit
So that I can have a Godward perspective.
I am so prone to sin.
I know my dependency to look to self
And be enticed by this world.
I come aware of need and dependency on you.
Give me eyes that look upward
So that I can be continually reminded
Of my inheritance, Heaven,
A life spent in eternity with Jesus.
Engrave on my heart that nothing is better than Jesus
Make my desire be to commune with Him always.
Increase my strength in growing to be like Him.
I am forever grateful for the calling you have given to me.
Please help me to live life worthy of the calling.

1 Comment »

  1. one for tuesdays child
    http://poetrypoem.com/cgi-bin/index.pl?poemnumber=871336&sitename=charlax&password=&poemoffset=0&displaypoem=t&item=poetry
    Righteousness Justification

    Righteousness Justification
    WEDNESDAY JUNE 18
    But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.
    What the law had not done in the manner of the law to save Jesus has filled it all so brave HE has won for me the thing there is now no more that eye can do but to trust the GOD. One Law that eye have broken matters not the rest of them not kept the thing is done a sinless creature wept the SON of GOD. Upon the ROCK in the garden of Gethsemane he prayed for the sinfull likes of me and thee he died and kept the law. He and HE alone and HE is GOD. We can say Jesus we can go home.

    Comment by charlax — June 18, 2008 @ 7:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

