Bought by the Blood

November 29, 2008

Psalms 42 and 43

Filed under: cross,Hope,Psalms,trials,Trusting God — cubsfan1980 @ 10:01 pm
Tags: ,

As a deer pants for flowing streams,
so pants my soul for you, O God.
2 My soul thirsts for God,
for the living God.
When shall I come and appear before God? [2]
3 My tears have been my food
day and night,
while they say to me all the day long,
“Where is your God?” “Psalm 42:1-3

3 Send out your light and your truth;
let them lead me;
let them bring me to your holy hill
and to your dwelling!
4 Then I will go to the altar of God,
to God my exceeding joy,
and I will praise you with the lyre,
O God, my God.

5 Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God. “Psalm 43:3-5

I wrote a new poem today based on Psalm 42 and 43.  The psalmist at a point of despair and I tried to capture in this poem.  In the Psalm though the Psalmist is steadfast in clinging to his hope in God, so as I dealt with that, I tied it back into the basis of of hope which is the cross.

My heart yearns for you,
I need your grace to survive.
Without your spirit I’m at the brink of death.
My mouth is parched and my tounge sticks to the roof of my mouth,
Only your living waters can refresh me.
If I am not in your presence I will waste away,
Be not far from me my God.

When my enemies gather around
And my friends turn their back
My soul becomes cast down.
As my health fails
And I fear the loss of my job
Then turmoil grows within me.

Despite all of this,
Hope is not lost.
I come before the cross
And see where the Son of God died
To rescue me from my sins
And know I shall again praise Him.

At times when the darkness surrounds me
I cry out for your light and truth,
Assured that it will lead me to your dwelling place.
There is no place else I desire but your holy hill.
In your courts I bow down to worship you
For you are my exceeding joy and great reward.

1 Comment »

  1. Real good,Really good!! I see God big in you.
    Love in Christ

    Comment by pttyann — November 30, 2008 @ 1:17 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

