Bought by the Blood

December 25, 2008

Merry Christmas

Filed under: Attributes of God,Christmas,Luke,Psalms — cubsfan1980 @ 12:37 pm

Luke 2:14 “Glory to God in the highest.”

the poem that I wrote for Christmas today is based on Psalm 57 and Psalm 60 and the glorious one that came on Christmas morning.  As I was reading Psalm 57 I loved how it spoke so much about God’s attributes and in Christ we see all of those attributes.  Psalm 59 closes with the following verses and I knew I wanted to write a poem based on these verses and so God used these two Psalms to speak this poem to my heart

16 But I will sing of your strength;
I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.
For you have been to me a fortress
and a refuge in the day of my distress.
17 O my Strength, I will sing praises to you,
for you, O God, are my fortress,
the God who shows me steadfast love.

Christmas poem

Little one in a manger, come from Heaven above,
I will sing and make melody to you
For you are the glorious One
And your glory is over all the earth.

A helpless babe is the One
Who gives strength to all,
I will sing of your strength
For you are the mighty one
That saves sinners.

High and exalted One that rules over all
You came down from Heaven
To proclaim the Father’s grace and mercy.
I will sing aloud of your steadfast love,
Be exalted, O Savior, above the Heavens.

Crucified and risen Lord of creation,
You have defeated sin and death,
In you I find life and joy.
Despite my weaknesses your purposes
Are being fulfilled in me
O my strength, I will sing praises to you.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

