Bought by the Blood

February 14, 2009

Glory be to the God of all Provision

These all look to you,
to give them their food in due season.
-Psalm 104:27

In times of want and in times of plenty I look up to the One who holds my life in His hands.  He cares for the flowers and the sparrows, so I can be confident that He cares for me.  He is the provider of my daily bread.  He give me strength and breath to have energy to go work.  He gives me wisdom to know how to accomplish the task that are before me.  He gives me favor with those I work for so that I can continue to bring home a pay check.  There is nothing that I can do to provide for myself.  I am totally dependent on the Lord who reigns above.  He is the One that my provision comes from.  In due season He gives me food and everything that I need.

If he were to turn His face away, there is no way that I would be able to stand.  Because of His favor that I have through Christ sacrifice for my sins, I am able to be one of His adopted children.  He looks on me with pleasure and delights to do me good because I am one of His own.  He has bought me at the price of His own beloved Son.  If He would do that for me, then I can rest assured He will do all else for me.  On my own, I am weak and power less and can do no good deed and can provide nothing for myself.  In God is where I place my hope, I find myself in a safe place when my hope is in Him.  If my hope is in myself then I have ample reason to worry and fret.

At the cross I have peace with God because my sin has been taken care of through Christ atoning work.  God wants me not to just have that peace at the spiritual level, but also in my present day to day life.  Since my greatest need has been met, I can trust in God to meet all my other needs.  If my mind goes to God and what He has already done and what he is capable of doing in all of life’s circumstances then He will keep in perfect peace (Isaiah 26:3).  He does not intend for me to become anxious about the cares of this life.  Instead, He desires for me to lay my cares before Him so that I may rest in the peace that surpasses all understanding knowing that He will supply every need of mine according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7&19).  To Him be the glory for His rich provision!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

