Bought by the Blood

February 16, 2009

R-E-P-E-N-T, find out what it means to me

For godly grief produces a repentance that leads to salvation without regret, whereas worldly grief produces death.
-2 Corinthians 7:10

Repentance is a gift from God and is not possible without the aid of His Holy Spirit.  To repent means to turn from my sin and to turn my gaze toward God.  This is a continual process and there will never be a day of my life where I am not walking through repentance in at least one area of my life.  A predecessor to repentance is viewing my sin the way that God does. My sin grieves God, therefore, I too must grieve over my sin.  I need to pray that the Holy Spirit will increase my hatred of sin.  There is no sin greater than mine and if the apostle Paul could call himself the chief sinner, then where does that leave me?  My sin is chief, not because of what I’ve done, but because of who I’ve sinned against.  God, loves me with an infinite love, a love so great that He would send His Son to die in my place to resolve the offense of my sin.  If my sin causes such a great rift between God and I that it would require the death of His Son, then I should hate the cause of that rift.  If it wasn’t for my sin then Jesus would not have needed to go to the cross.

I cannot make any excuses for sin.  Looking for a way to justify sin is a sure sign of worldly grief.  If I am more aware of how my sin affects myself or others instead of how it defames God then I have worldly grief.  Proper grief over my sin brings back to God and allows me to see His holiness and how He cannot have sin in His presence which is why Jesus had to die.  Worldly grieve over my sin only directs me to myself and this world while taking me further away from the cross.  With worldly grief I grow desensitized to how all sin is an abomination because it is an attack on a holy God.  This only leads to atrophy of my sin and a hardening of heart with a final result of spiritual death.

If I truly am saved, then I will live out my salvation in a manner that shows that I take my sin seriously (Philippians 2:12).  I can never be content with my spiritual growth, but always seek to strive and grow into greater Christ likeness.  This means mortifying my flesh and never ceasing from doing battle with the sin nature that is within me.  If I am truly repentant, than I will constantly be growing in my awareness of who God is and how I fall short of He commands.  The only proper response to this is to run like one seeking a prize and not stopping until I reach the finish line (1 Corinthians 9:24).  I need to be strengthened by the grace that is in Jesus Christ so I cannot be distracted from my calling and please the One who has bought me with His blood (2 Timothy 2:1-6).  I want to be ready for Christ return and live in a manner that I am not ashamed when He comes back.  I know that if I have turned from my sins and forsake this world, but live in anticipation of Christ return, then “there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day (2 Timothy 4:8).”  That is why I discipline myself to turn from my sins and turn to Christ.

1 Comment »

  1. You give me pause to think about my interpretation of “sin” and “repentance.” To me, sin is placing my wants before what God wants me to do. In short, selfishness. To repent is to acknowledge my sin to God (and myself) and to make a conscientious effort not to sin again although I know I will. My aim then is to do my best not to commit the same sin again.

    I must admit, you cause me to look at myself and my life in a much more analytical sense then I have previously.

    Take care and have agood day.

    Comment by Bob Lewis — February 16, 2009 @ 4:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

