Bought by the Blood

February 17, 2009

All we need is love

Yet he saved them for his name’s sake, that he might make known his mighty power. -Psalm 106:8

The reason God saved Israel and the reason He saved you and I is because of His grace. My salvation is solely on the basis of God’s undeserved favor. There is nothing I could do to deserve God’s love, but He freely gives it to the ungodly, so that by faith they can find redemption and be reconciled to Him. In my natural state God and I are enemies, I would never reach out to Him and seek to be in relationship with Him. Before God gave me a new heart I was dead in sin and transgressions, like all dead people, I could do nothing to move towards God. God did all the work in raising me up to new life and opening my eyes to see my need for Him and His great worth. Without God acting I would never have salvation, it is all because of Him that I am in union with Christ.

The way that I am saved is completely outside of my self, it is the power of God working through Christ death on the cross. God’s power is infinite and unimaginable. At the dawn of creation He spoke the heavens and earth into existence, He never lifted a finger or did any work but by His breath all things were made. Kings and nation are raised up by the power of God and brought low by Him as well, all world powers do not get power from their working, but from God’s mercy that grants all things to all beings. God’s power is a means to display His glory so that all creation might come to a saving knowledge of Him. God’s power is what breaks a sinner’s heart of stone and makes it like flesh so that we can live transformed lives to the praise of God’s name. His power has defeated sin and death, so that we may have new life and life for Him.

Why has God displayed His power like this to sinful man that has no interest in Him (Romans 3:11-12)? It is for His name’s sake. If God were ever to look for a reason in you and I to save us, He would never find any. In Old Testament times when a covenant is made between two parties it is ratified by both members, but in God’s covenant with Abraham, only God participated in the covenant (Genesis 15:17 and Hebrews 6:13-15). You and I are temporal, God is eternal, therefore, God finds His highest reason love sinful man not in us, but in Himself. God coming to save us is not on the basis of our belief or on us loving Him first. God loves us because He is love, mysterious and unfathomable love that has no end(Deuteronomy 7:7-8). It is because of us that He loves us, but because He is love. His name is love and so He loves us (1 John 4:16).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

