Bought by the Blood

March 18, 2009

I owe it all to God

Filed under: Colossians,cross,John Piper,Passion of Jesus Christ,Quote — cubsfan1980 @ 12:34 pm
Tags: , ,

And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross. – Colossians 2:13-14

If I were to create a greatest hits of verses from every book of the Bible, the above verse from Colossians would definitely be listed.  In the process of salvation I contribute nothing.  I am dead in my trespasses and God is the active agent.  Without Him intervening and working, I would be dead.  I did not have good deeds that He could use to justify me being saved, the only basis I have for my justification is in Christ completed work.  My faith is in Him and what He has done, trusting in His perfect obedience and righteousness that is transferred to me.  He died on the cross so that He could take on my sin and have it nailed it to the cross, so that I can be raised in Him.   I love what John Piper says about this passage from chapter of 7 of “The Passion of Jesus Christ.”

There is no salvation by balancing the records. There is only salvation by canceling records. The record of our bad deeds (including our defective good deeds), along with the just penalties that each deserves, must be blotted out—not balanced. This is what Christ suffered and died to accomplish.

The cancellation happened when the record of our deeds was “nailed to the cross” (Colossians 2:13). How was this damning record nailed to the cross? Parchment was not nailed to the cross. Christ was. So Christ became my damning record of bad (and good) deeds. He endured my damnation. He put my salvation on a totally different footing. He is my only hope. And faith in him is my only way to God.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

