Bought by the Blood

March 24, 2009

Homosexuality and the Gospel

In my last blog post I asked the rhetorical question about justification for abortion.  Abortion is one of the easiest sins to stand up against because even without Scriptural truth speaking out against it there is still no reason to accept this as a way of life.   Although many opponents to abortion lack compassion, the pro-life movement truly is one of compassion as it seeks to save both a child’s life and a mother’s soul.

An area of truth that I find harder to stand-up against is that of homosexuality.  When you take out the voice of Scripture it seems like a reasonable lifestyle to a secular culture.  How do I tell those that I know are homosexual that their lifestyle and relationship is wrong if all they are living for is this world?  What compassion can I offer if that is the way there made and have no hope to change in the Gospel?

I was listening to the Focus On the Family Daily broadcast this morning and a mother was talking about her wayward son who currently is in prison.  The last time she hugged him is when he told her he had to sleep underneath a bridge that night as he was on the run from the law.  The mother could have let him sleep at her house or provided a way out, but tough love required that their must be consequences for the son’s actions.

Listening to this story gave me a picture of what speaking  out against homosexuality should be.  It should be a loving act because there are consequences to pay for sin.  Even if those consequences are not realized in this life, they will be realized when God comes to judge the world.  The reality of the matter is that there are many consequences in this life such as STD’s and relationships that will not last and missing God’s design for marriage.  If I truly love those that I know who are homosexual I will speak the truth in love.

Proclaiming that homosexuality is a sin is only a partial truth.  The ultimate truth that they need to hear is of their fractured relationship with God  and that they need to turn from ALL sin, chiefly unbelief, and believe on the atoning death of Jesus and live a life that reflects that.  Speaking out against homosexuality, or any sin for that matter, cannot be done apart from the Gospel.  The truth of the matter is that without the Gospel we are all in the same boat as homosexuals.  This is a story that I posted on my first blog from the life of Rich Mullins

I remember one time Beaker and I were hiking on the Appalachian Trail, and he met some friends of his, so I walked into town.  It was about a five-mile walk from the campsite down the trail…,down into town.  And when I got there I went into a restaurant and I was having a steak, and this guy started talking to me and we had this great conversation.  We were having a good time, and he said, “Hey look, it’s dark and it’s five miles up to your campground. Why I don’t I drive you up there?”

And I said, “Hey, Great!”

And so we got in his car, and just as we pulled out from under the last light in that town, the guy said, “You know what, I should probably tell you that I am gay.”

And I said, “Oh, I should probably tell you that I am a Christian.”

And he said, “Well, if you want out of the car…”

And I said, “Why?”

And he said, “Well, I’m gay and you’re Christian.”

I said, “It’s still five miles and it’s still dark.”

Then he said, “I thought Christians hated gays.”

I said, “That’s funny, I thought Christians were supposed to love. I thought that was our first command.”

He said, “Well, I thought God hated gays.”

And I said, “That’s really funny, because I thought God was love.”

And then he asked me the big one. He said, “Do you think I will go to hell for being a gay?”

Well, I’m a good Hoosier, and I puckered up to say, “Yes, of course you’ll go to hell for being gay.” I got ready to say that, but when I opened up my mouth it came out, “No, of course you won’t go to hell for being gay.” And I thought to myself, Oh my God, I’ve only been in New Hampshire for one week and I’ve already turned into a liberal! What am I going to tell this guy now?

Then I said to him, “No, you won’t go to hell for being gay, any more than I would go to hell for being a liar. Nobody goes to hell because of what they do. We go to hell because we reject the grace that God so longs to give to us, regardless of what we do.”

None of us accept the grace of God on our own, but we need the Holy Spirit to regenerate us so that we can hearts to love God.  We need Jesus if we are to be right with God.  We need Jesus if we are to live lives that please God.  God’s grace is offered freely through the cross and homosexuals and heterosexuals both are needy sinners that need to come to the cross if they want any hope of being saved.

“Our position on homosexuals is that they need Jesus. Our position on heterosexuals is that they need Jesus. Our position on married people is that they need Jesus. Our position on single people is that they need Jesus. Our position on fornicators is that they need Jesus. Our position on virgins is that they need Jesus. Our position on tall people is that they need Jesus. Our position on short people is that they need Jesus. Our position on right handed people is that they need Jesus. Our position on left handed people is that they need Jesus. Our position on young people is that they need Jesus. Our position on old people is that they need Jesus. Our position on Chevy drivers is that they need Jesus. Our position on Ford drivers is that they need Jesus. Our position on mac users is that they need Jesus. Our position on PC users is that they need Jesus. Our position on country/western fans is that they need Jesus. Our position on hip-hop fans is that they need Jesus. Our position on football fans is that they need Jesus. Our position on basketball fans is that they need Jesus. Our position on rich people is that they need Jesus. Our position on poor people is that they need Jesus. Our position on educated people is that they need Jesus. Our position on uneducated people is that they need Jesus.” – Mark Driscoll

11 Comments »

  1. […] james posted a noteworthy aricle today onHere’s a small snippetThe ultimate truth that they need to hear is of their fractured relationship with God and that they need to turn from ALL sin, chiefly unbelief, and believe on the atoning death of Jesus and live a life that reflects that. … […]

    Pingback by Ask the leadership coach » Homosexuality and the Gospel « Bought by the Blood — March 24, 2009 @ 3:59 pm | Reply

  2. […] GhulamMuhammed.Mumbai added an interesting post today on Homosexuality and the GospelHere’s a small readingI was listening to the Focus On the Family Daily broadcast this morning and a mother was talking about her wayward son who currently is in… […]

    Pingback by Topics about Familylife » Homosexuality and the Gospel — March 28, 2009 @ 1:03 am | Reply

  3. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

    Comment by RaiulBaztepo — March 30, 2009 @ 3:28 am | Reply

  4. Hello !!!! 😉
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

    Comment by PiterKokoniz — April 8, 2009 @ 8:15 am | Reply

  5. Just wanted to say this is a great thing for us to hear….so many of us want to condemn and move away from those who need the word….and we all need the word. You cant give testimony to someone whom you refuse to be around or have anything to do with. I have many friends and so many of them think that the homosexuality question is answered by condemning them into a group that you dont associate with and that you fight and speak out against at every opportunity. How does that bring anyone to God? We need to embrace and love them as ourselves, despite thier sins…it’s what we’re called to do. Embrace them and testify to them and share God’s word with them and be an example….not one of us is without sin. The Us and Them thing just doesn’t work…..we’re ALL sinners! We’re ALL them! Godbless!

    Comment by Michael Scarbrough — February 10, 2010 @ 2:30 am | Reply

  6. So all you need is ‘Jesus’, Mr Driscoll, and you can continue being a sinner and a homosexual and whatever pervert you wish to be. Why not have the guts to call a spade a spade? Homosexuality is a SIN. I think Paul made that clear right in Romans chapter 1.

    Woe to cheap American evangelical Christianity! I haven’t found any American who preaches the gospel as it is in the Bible.

    Yes, homosexuals are sinners. They have perverted the ways of God. But there is hope for them, if they turn to Christ, duly recognizing that they are trapped in sin. But if they think that homosexuality is just a lifestyle, accepted by secular society, then they are going to be deluded by Driscoll’s gospel and whatever this Blogwriter is trying to teach. A wimpy wishy-washy gospel can NEVER SAVE.

    Comment by Albright — March 25, 2010 @ 5:05 am | Reply

    • I am sorry if you missed the point of my blog post. When it comes to gospel preaching, particularly against sins such as homosexuality, abortion, fornication, alcoholism, etc. American evangelical Christianity can often point the finger and say “sinner,” and lack the compassion to say that we are all sinners and all need Jesus. I did spend the majority of the blog post talking about how homosexuality is a sin and that Christians need to speak out against it, so I am not sure why you think that I am not calling homosexuality a sin.

      The gospel is that all can come to Jesus and be saved. Driscoll never says that homosexuals can stay in their current lifestyle and I hope that is not something that I implied. If we have a gospel presentation that says you must change, then our gospel becomes about works. A homosexual, and any other sinners, hope for justification isn’t based on their changing their lifestyle, but turning to Jesus. The fruit of that is a changed lifestyle.

      Can you explain to me how this is different from how the gospel is presented in the Bible?

      Comment by bloodbought — March 25, 2010 @ 8:59 am | Reply

    • Albright, I read your comment and found lacking. If you could explain the ‘wimpy wishy-washy gospel’ that would probably help. The interesting thing that did come to mind after reading your comment in contrast to the blog post, was that I seemed to hear a lot more God-centered gospel in the blog post. In your comment I heard this: The gospel is that we are sinners and we all need to turn to Christ (i am assuming you mean rely on his work, or at least hoping so) and recognize that we are trapped in sin.

      That is all fine and dandy, but as I said early, I found it lacking. It would seem to me that the gospel is good news. I remember Jesus walking, resting, eating, and spending tons of time with ‘sinners’ and he seemed to spend more time talking about love than he did telling the sinners that they were bad and needed to change. In fact, when a prostitute came into the house while he and the disciples were eating, He actually praised the fact that she was simply washing his feet in perfume. He wasn’t saying, ‘Ah, see here disciples, this woman recognizes that she is bad, and that her life is bad, and she is admitting that and desiring to change for her good.’ NO, in fact he was saying this, ‘Here is true worship, she recognizes who I am. She is face up to my glory, she is seeing my worth as God.’ It wasn’t about the work of giving to the poor, it wasn’t self-repudiation, it was knowing God, knowing his worth, and what he was doing for his creation.

      The bible goes like this: Creation in which God is glorified as creator, fall in which God is glorified as good and faithful (as he continues to pursue Israel), Redemption in which God is glorified in so many ways, since he came down because of his love, justifying us for His glory, the Godhead intimately folded into humanity, God’s plan of restoration for all of creation being inaugurated, victory being gained and much much more. And lastly Restoration, which God is working out now in the hearts of believers and when he comes back, he will judge all men, us included, he will destroy sin once and for all, and he will RECREATE! he will make a new Jerusalem and we will abide with him forever. AND ALL OF THIS is for the glory of God, not that man might be saved but that God might be glorified for his great love with which he has loved us… The gospel is God. Who he is, what he is doing, how he does it all, and what he will do. Are we sinners? yes. Do we need to repent, turn away from sin? yes. Do we need justification? Absolutely. is that it? NO! God is the good news, I am a sinner, yet he adopted me. I need change, yet God while I was DEAD in my sin chose me, loved me, seated me in the Heavenly places with Christ. HE is the good news. not me.

      As with this post, while homosexuality is a sin, that is not the gospel. The gospel is that God created them, God intimately knit them together, just like the rest of us. God loved, loves, and will love them, though they are separated from him… They have given up the truth about God for a lie. They look for worth, satisfaction, and security in sexual relationships with the same gender. Where I sought those things in drugs, they seek it in sex, like some women seek it in marriage, and some men seek it in money. They are eternally worth-full, they are created in his image, and he loves them, and wants to give them those things in himself, they have sinned but He has removed that barrier, Seek God for he is the one that truly loves, and in whom our worth is truly found, and in whom our security and ETERNAL satisfaction lies. That is the gospel. God will change them. They will be a new creation, no longer enslaved to sin, just as you and I were changed, but that change happens after we see God for who he is, what he is doing, and his glory…

      Comment by Malone — April 27, 2010 @ 7:40 pm | Reply

  7. Yes, love is a commandment, but if you love this man you would of told him the truth. The truth being he is going to hell for living a false life of homosexuality unless he repents of his ways and lives a truthful life in Christ.

    I guess you’ll tell people anything when you’re scared to walk the trails in the dark. If thats the case your not trusting in God. Both of you just used each other. He used you to hear the lie he wanted to hear about not going to hell, and in exchange you used him to get a ride. God is absent in this situation. We need to encourage homosexuals to repent and change their ways not encourage them to keep whipping, striking, and spitting on our savior. Woe to anyone who encourages sin by the blood of Jesus Christ. Can I lie with my brothers as I would with my wife because Jesus died for me? Certainly not.

    Jesus says, we must be willing to leave our father, mother, brothers and sister to pick up your cross and follow him. How much more does this mean for someone to leave a homosexual lifestyle to follow Jesus? As Christians we are not to negotiate our faith with others, but instead we are to proclaim the good news of the gospel even though many will hate us because of his name since the gospel we are to preach wages war on the evil one.

    You are right when you say that God is love and has given us grace, but the only way to understand this love is by knowing that the beginning of knowledge is the fear of the Lord. If you don’t understand this then the rest of the gospel will surely lose its power. It was by his love to to protect us from satan that he gave us the ten commandments, but we fell short of his glory, and by his grace he has given us a savior. The savior was not so that we may live our lives in selfish pleasure, but rather for the world to accept and start over with their relationship towards God. Only with the one who accepts God is pleased.

    When you must must walk through the dark have faith and remember Psalm 23:4.

    Psalm 23:4
    Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
    I will fear no evil; For you are with me; Your rod and Your staff,
    they confort me.

    Comment by Jose Marrero — September 24, 2010 @ 2:45 am | Reply

  8. Hey dude, Steve here… Keep ‘em coming… you are doing a great job with this blog, inspiring many newbies like me… can’t tell you how much I appreciate all you do! – Steve

    Comment by Telefony — October 6, 2010 @ 4:13 am | Reply

  9. I know Peter and I know Paul but I know Christ so who are you ….. Get a life and leave ours alone.

    Comment by Garran Shaver — August 21, 2012 @ 9:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

