Bought by the Blood

April 8, 2009

Underserving

I’ve been reading in the Psalms for several months and feel fairly familiar with them.  Maybe it’s because I’m reading in three other places, but the Psalms feel very familiar for me right now.  It has been rare this time around that I will come across a Psalm where it feels fresh and new.  Recently I was reading Psalm 138 and I was struck by the Psalmist appreciation of God as he saw God’s protection and guidance in his life.  I immediately thought, I want a heart like that.  I ended up writing two poems about this Psalm, one centering on thanksgiving and the other on God’s care.  I am posting the first poem today and the second tomorrow.

If I spent the rest of my life praising your wonderful name,
It would be a failing attempt at finding a way to express
The thanksgiving I have for your death on the cross for my sins.

Above all things you are highly exalted.
The glory you have is unimaginable.
All of creation will one day bow down to you.

I am so underserving of your love and faithfulness.
Why would you adopt someone as lowly as I?
I am but a worm, with nothing to offer.
You are great in majesty and words fail me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

