Bought by the Blood

June 2, 2009

Pleasure

Then I considered all that my hands had done and the toil I had expended in doing it, and behold, all was vanity and a striving after wind, and there was nothing to be gained under the sun. – Ecclesiastes 2:11

If I had all the pleasures that this world could offer, none of it would fulfill me.  In Ecclesiastes two, Solomon had everything that a man could ever hope for and he knew it was all pointless.  Solomon was the richest man ever and had mansions beyond belief, the choicest food and wine, many wives for his sexual fulfillment and anything else that we our hearts could ran after to find satisfaction.  None of this filled Solomon.  It all left him yearning for something more.  We are all made for a relationship with God and our lives will be lacking until we find fullness of joy in His presence.

If my life is about gaining stuff then I miss my God’s intention for me.  His  purpose in my life is to make me holy and set apart from this world.  If my hope is for a great life now, then my desires are too weak.  Instead I set my gaze for Christ return, when His kingdom comes and I am able to see Him face to face.  God does not want me to get comfortable in this world because it is not my home.  I am a sojourner in this world and I do not seek an earthly treasure, but an inheritance awaits in my Lord and Savior.

In this life I find myself through dieing, by losing my life I gain it.  The greatest gain is found in sacrifice for the Gospel and denying the pleasures of this world.  Jesus gave His life for me, so that I may live, in Him I am made complete.  He became a servant for my sake, so I become a servant so others may know Him.  For Jesus, joy was not found in the exaltation of this word, but at the cross where shame and wrath met so that the Father could exalt Him.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

