Bought by the Blood

June 4, 2009

All is meaningless without Christ blood

There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God, for apart from him who can eat or who can have enjoyment? – Ecclesiastes 2:24-25

We all need a proper theology for every day life. The work we do, what we find pleasure in, what we eat and drink cannot be separated from God. If we don’t have a grasp of how God relates to every iota of our living then our lives will be meaningless, a chase after the wind. To find enjoyment in life we need to see all things coming from the good and wise hand of God. With that view in mind we realize that we are only stewards and see our work, food, drink and everything as gifts from God to steward for His glory(1 Corinthians 10:31). No Father ever gives bad gifts, so we can rejoice in all He has given us.

If I see my work as coming from God, then I can be content in my work know that has his purpose to sanctify me and conform me to Christ image. It does not matter if I make little or an overabundance. What matters it that I know who God is and grow in godliness. In godliness there is great gain and that is the source of my contentment. My contentment is not found in material possessions because those are only temporal and passing. I brought nothing into this life and all that I have are given to me by God (1 Timothy 6:6-7). Like Solomon I only ask, “give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the Lord?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God. (Proverbs 30: 8-9)”

This kind of attitude cannot be cultivated apart from the cross. At the cross of Christ we see that Jesus is reconciling all things to Himself. All things, that includes my work, my leisure, my sleep, everything that compasses my life, there is nothing that is not reconciled and given a redemptive purpose through His finished work on the cross. Everything is created through Christ and for Him, in Christ the whole universe is held together. His blood shed for me opens my eyes to this higher reality and allows me to live for His glory. By living for His glory I am content with what may come because I know it’s not about me, but all about Him. Having peace through His blood gives my life meaning (Colossians 1:15-20).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

