Bought by the Blood

June 10, 2009

abiding in John’s gospel

If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you…As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love…You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. – John 15:7,9,16

In John 15 Jesus expounds on what it means to abide. If we are to do anything good and bear fruit for Jesus, we must abide. Abiding is a continual attitude that we need Jesus to deny our flesh and live for Him. To abide is to have a heart attitude that cries out “abba, father, help me to glorify you.” We can have confidence that this is a request that God will honor because if we ask in His name then He will answer. Jesus has chosen us for this purpose and He will supply everything that we need to live for Him. To abide is to live fully reliant on God to transform us to be like Jesus. If we are not abiding in Christ, we can never be made like Him.

Those that abide in Christ live their life with a constant awareness of Christ love for them. They are not defined by money, jobs, status or anything if this world, instead they define their life by the love that was shown to them on the cross. If I am abiding in Christ then I am not controlled by my flesh, but instead being controlled by the love of Christ. His love will compel me to no longer live for myself, but to live for Him loves me and gave Himself up for me. To abide is continually be in awe and amazed by Christ love. An abiding life is one that finds it greatest and highest delight in knowing more and more of Christ love displayed on the cross to me.

Lastly, if I am to abide in Christ then His Word must be integral to my life. Jesus’ Words give life and they are access to remaining in Him. The Bible draws us close to God’s heart and reveal Jesus to us. Without going to God’s word and having it in us we cannot remain in communion with Jesus. J.C. Ryle states about this aspect of abiding in John 15:7 “To have His words abiding in us, is to keep His sayings and precepts continually before our memories and minds, and to make them the guide of our actions and the rule of our daily conduct and behavior.” This form of abiding will always be failing if not for Jesus promise that He will strengthen those who remain in Him if we ask. If we ask for a greater ability to abide, then he will do it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

