Bought by the Blood

October 1, 2009

Faith and Works

Filed under: ephesians,Faith,grace,J.C. Ryle,John,obedience — cubsfan1980 @ 8:30 pm
Tags: ,

“Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.” – John 14:21

We are not to suppose for a moment that “keeping Christ’s commandments” can save us.  Our best works are full of imperfection.  When we have done all we can, we are feeble and unprofitable servants.  “By grace you are saved through faith-, not of works. (Ephesians 2:8)” But while we hold one class of truths, we must not forget another.  Faith in the blood of Christ must always be attended by loving obedience to the will of Christ.  What the Master has joined together, the disciple must not put asunder.  Do we profess to love Christ?  Then let us show it by our lives.  The Apostle who said, “Thou knowest that I love Thee!” received the charge,  “Feed my lambs.”  That meant, “Do something. Be useful: follow my example. (John 21:17)” J.C. Ryle

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you for this gem from Ryle! In a similar vein, I would recommend reading a recent work that does a superb job of pounding home this connection of faith and works, namely, “The Great Work of the Gospel,” by John Ensor (Crossway). Since I see on your “About” page that Ryle is a hero, this book will resonate with you deeply I believe.

    Comment by A Clay Jar Speaking — October 1, 2009 @ 8:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

