Bought by the Blood

June 14, 2011

Living Supernaturally

I don’t always appreciate the writing of Andrée Seu but I thought the following was really poignant

Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.”
(John 4:10 ESV)

If you and I knew who Jesus was—really, really knew—would we pray differently? Wouldn’t it expand our imagination? Isn’t this what Jesus is saying to this Samaritan woman he has struck up a conversation with at the well: “Lady, if you really knew who you were talking to here, you and I wouldn’t be wasting our time in theological debate; you would be inundating me with requests for all your spiritual needs”?

My dullness about God tends to fall along two lines: Dullness about how powerful he wants to be in our lives and dullness about how involved he wants to be in our lives. I act as if forgiveness of sins is His entire gift, and not also the breaking of bondages, the bending of impossibilities, and the undoing varieties of the devil’s handiwork (1 John 3:8). You can read the rest here http://online.worldmag.com/2011/06/08/if-you-knew/

When God becomes dull the problem is never God, but always me.  I have a short sighted view and miss what God eternal big picture is and how He is working.  My perspective misses what He has already done on the cross and how He has solved my greatest need and triumphed over the greatest evil and displayed more power and love then humanly imaginable.  Often times my wisdom only looks back on human history, but God goes beyond the confines times, to before there was time, when He set me apart to be holy and blameless to the praise of His glorious grace, experiencing all of the blessings of being in the beloved (Ephesians 1:4-6). Now that is supernatural.  God is not dull, and even in the mundane, I am serving a supernatural God who is calling me to live supernaturally.   

When I get bored with my circumstances, work or any aspect of daily living I need to press into Jesus knowing that this is not all He has in store for me.  I need to remember that He is bigger then I can comprehend and even in the littlest things He is working.  Even though naturally I can’t see His hand and what He is doing in every instance, I know every second He is at work refining me.  Life is never dull, because God is never dull and has more then just forgiveness of sins for me, but life and life to the full.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.
(John 10:10 ESV)

1 Comment »

  1. Yes! That’s exactly what I’ve been pondering! Life as a person of faith should be radiant and never dull. Thank you for your post.

    Comment by Victoria — June 14, 2011 @ 10:59 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

