Bought by the Blood

June 23, 2011

Great Parenting Tips

Filed under: cross,Doug Wolter,God's Faithfulness,Gospel,Whining — cubsfan1980 @ 11:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

I am supposed to be asleep right now, but I recently found a great new parenting resource that I can’t get enough of.  It is from Doug Wolter and it called, 10 Teachable Moments as Parents.  They are built upon the principle that “God is parenting me as I parent my kids”One of my favorite ones that I’ve read is far is called, “When Your Kids Keep Whining.”  

“Stop whining!”  I’m sure you’ve said that to your kids at one time or another.  You may have even whined back at them showing them how silly they sounded.  But then all of a sudden it hit you.  You’re just like them.  You’re a whiner, too.

I admit it.  I’m still whining even though I’m 34 years old.  It just looks a little different now.  I may not have the annoying whiny voice, but when I don’t get my way I complain and wonder why God is taking so long to answer me.  I don’t like to wait.  I’d rather whine.  I don’t like to keep knocking on the door of my prayer closet.  I’d rather keep complaining to my spouse at the dinner table.  I forget God’s faithfulness in the past and wonder why he can’t speed up the present.  Instead of waiting, I’m whining.

If anyone had a right to whine it was Jesus. Condescending to us as a poor, humble man destined to die on a cross for selfish rebels like us, he had every right to whine and complain.  Instead he lived a life of submission to his Father and dependence on the Spirit.  Yes he was God.  And yes he was sinless.  But he was also human.  He was tempted.  And He could’ve complained.  But he didn’t.  He waited and relied on his Father.  He trusted and depended on the Spirit.

So the next time your kid whines, stop and remember that you’re a whiner too.  But in Christ you don’t have to whine.  You can submit to your Father’s will and quietly depend on the Spirit to lead you.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

